I recently returned from a trip to India with the boyfriend & my cousin.
We traveled the North visiting forts, palaces, memorials and more. It was one great history lesson on the North and specifically the Golden Triangle (Delhi, Agra, Jaipur).
We made our way down to Southern India, where my family is, and spent time in Bangalore, Mysore and Coorg.
Coorg aka. Kodagu is where my ancestors are from and the area is rich in agriculture.
While in Coorg, my cousin Subbu made us a fabulous lunch at his estate. I had to ask him the recipe and try it at home myself.

Here is a picture of the dish in Coorg.
Seer fish with tumeric, chilli powder, vinegar, salt. Shallow fried.
Seer fish is under the Mackerel fish family. I can’t find Seer in Vancouver, but if anybody knows where I can, please let me know.

Now, I tried to recreate the dish at home.
Mackerel fish steaks with tumeric, chilli powder, vinegar, salt. Pan fried aka. Shallow fried.
It didn’t taste half as good as the Coorg version. The flavour wasn’t as strong, and it wasn’t spicy at all. I’m going to have to try again!


Any tips or suggestions? Please leave in the comment box!

Unicorn,
Cat

